Home Entertainment Movies Film Review – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani

Film Review – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani

While watching Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani, do not miss the scene when he says, “Tum pehle bhi itni hee khoobsurat thee, ya waqt ne kiya koi haseen sitam…” She says, “Issshhhh kya filmy dialogue mara hai!”

Over many a years a million love stories have come and a million gone. People make love stories and people watch love stories. Amazing what all love can do.

One such love story Karan Johar brings for us – Yeh Jaawani Hai Deewaani, directed by Ayan Mukherjee. He takes us through the life span of Bunny and Naina from school times till their late 20s. Friendship, music, masti, togetherness, in all special memories.

Bunny i.e Kabir Thapar says “Shaadi ke basic concept main hee jhol hai” and he does not believe in marriage and lives a hippie life, fulfilling all his dreams while Naina is exactly opposite him. They meet again and again and again and love happens.

We also see Madhuri Dixit in an item number ‘Ghagra’, sizzling to the tunes. Farooq Sheikh and Tanvi Azmi are briefly pulled in though would have loved to see more of them. Justice done to Aditya Roy Kapoor and Kalki Koechlin who perform well too.

Well, but it is Ranbir Kapoor, the youngest in the Kapoor clan who walks away with the cake in this movie. He is witty and flirts around with lots of fun and some great dancing. Does anybody want the Sid to Wake Up!

Music is powerful and has been creating waves since release. Two songs ‘Badtmeez Dil’ (Singers: Benny Dayal, Shefali Alvares) and ‘Balam Pichkari’ (Singers: Vishal Dadlani, Shalmali Kholgade) are chart busters already. Two more songs are aptly placed with great lyrics and picturisation – ‘Subhanallah’ (Singers: Sreeram, Shilpa Rao) and ‘Kabira’ (Singers: Rekha Bhardwaj, Tochi Raina).

Overall a good movie though the end could have been a bit more intense and powerful. A typical Karan Johar movie where the hero would pull his heroine on to a moving train, kiss her tight and profess his love.

Story, Screenplay & Direction: Ayan Mukherji; Produced by: Hiroo Yash Johar & Karan Johar; Co-Producer: Apoorva Mehta; Music: Pritam; Lyrics: Amitabh Bhattacharya.